Access – an interactive art installation by Marie Sester

I have started searching for existing installations that conceptualise and represent similar ideas to mine. Through this I can find more inspiration which will assist me in creating my own installation. I also find that analysing other designer’s work helps me both create and analyse my own work.

This installation follows and uses similar ideas to what my installation is going to express. As seen in the video, the installation registers the movement of an individual in a confined public space and highlights them with a spotlight. This spotlight is somewhat similar to prison escape comedy sketches, these sketches could be argued to be widely recognised and understood. Arguably, people would interact with installation in a similar way to those comedy sketches. Here we can begin to see how the installation initiates performance, by singling out an individual they are encouraged to act differently as their identity has become public. As seen in the video demonstration, the individual goes from walking casually in a predictable manner in their own private space to running around or walking in an unpredictable manner, maybe in order to escape the spotlight or the public’s eye.

This installation contextualises a similar idea to mine. However instead of using the installation to interact with an individual to single them out in a public space, my installation interacts with all of the people moving in the space by blurring them and people standing still are untouched by the installation. In this way my installation is similar due to the fact that individuals are singled out to encourage performance but the way in which people are singled out is almost the opposite.

Access – an interactive art installation by Marie Sester