Face Tracking – Open CV

Before starting my installation I realised that it would be very difficult to animate over people who are moving on the screen. Creating whole body blurring or pixelation on movement would be challenging as a new user of processing. I began finding other methods interaction, Face Tracking in Open CV is a great start. In order for my installation to work I need to understand and use face-tracking to pixelate people who look at the screen and those who don’t look at the screen. As you can see in the screen shot below I have a white rectangle in front of my face. This has been made by simply adding a fill to the pre-made rectangle and changing the colours to black and white. I think that it is a good idea to test how this particular processing face tracking works. Covering up a facial features removes the rectangle as it can no longer recognise my face. When this is placed in a public space problems may occur. One problem being that if people in the space are not looking at the camera or they are covering their face, they will not be pixelated.

Screen Shot 2014-12-12 at 15.50.35

 

Face Tracking – Open CV