Interactive Pixelation

After a short time I was able to reduce the size of the pixels and remove the large white boarders around the pixels. In the screenshot below you can see that pixels are a lot smaller. The reason I wanted to make the pixels smaller is that I wanted the recording to be more visible. In my previous post (Pixelating videos) it was difficult to work out what the recording was. If I had continued with the pixels that large it would be difficult to recognise facial features and once I had made face pixelation there would only be a few large pixels covering the face. To make it seem more realistic I needed to make the pixels smaller. After I had made the pixels smaller I began attempting to only have faces that were detected pixelated. However,  I encountered a rather irritating problem when trying to pixelate a face. When a face is detected the entire video becomes pixelated, when the face isn’t detected the video is not pixelated. I think my next step will be trying to alter the code to make faces pixelated when they are detected rather than the entire screen. Although I had removed the white boarders around the pixels I have noticed that they are still outlined. In my next post they should be removed.

Screen Shot 2014-12-12 at 15.37.30

Interactive Pixelation