Iteration 2

With my first idea of CCTV style pixelation my original steps to creating the installation were:

1. Recognise and track a the majority of people on the screen
2. Those recognised people will be pixelated/blurred to reflect private performance
3. Those which aren’t pixelated/blurred reflect public performance as they are recognisable
4. To encourage a change in performance from those who are not pixelated/blurred

Those steps have changed with my new idea. I found it really difficult to have the majority of faces pixelated or even get face pixelation to work successfully. Now that I am further into processing I have realised how to fix the problem. However, my new idea is more artistic and actually encourages performance. There’s not much interaction and audience can do if their face is pixelated and then it’s not. As I have mentioned in my previous post (Iteration 1). My original idea was that people pixelated where the private performers and people who weren’t were public performers. Due to my new design method, people who are drawn over are the public performers and people who are not drawn over are private performers. This encourages the private people to perform.

The new steps I have taken with my installation are

1. Track and draw over any movement on the screen, that movement represents public performance
2. Anyone stood still on the screen is not drawn on, reflecting private performance
3. Those who aren’t drawn over will be encouraged to move/perform in order to be drawn over

Iteration 2